About Us

The Louis Armstrong House Museum is a National Historic Landmark and a New York City landmark. The Museum is a member of the American Alliance of Museums, the Association of African American Museums, the Museums Council of New York City, the New York State Museums Association, the National Trust for Historic Preservation, and NYC & Company. The Museum is a constituent of the Kupferberg Center for the Arts at Queens College.

The historic site is owned by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs and administered by Queens College under a long-term license agreement.


The mission of the Louis Armstrong House Museum is to:

• Operate the Louis Armstrong House, a National Historic Landmark and a New York City landmark, as a historic house museum;
• Collect, arrange, preserve, catalog, and make available to the public materials relating to the life and career of Louis Armstrong;
• Serve as a reference source for information about Louis Armstrong; and
• Present public programs, such as concerts and lectures, that preserve and promote the cultural legacy of Louis Armstrong.


Jerome Chazen
Michael Cogswell
Stanley Crouch
Jay Hershenson
Stephen Maitland-Lewis
Dr. James Muyskens
David Ostwald, Esq.
Jeffrey Rosenstock


George Avakian
Jack Bradley
Hon. Julissa Ferreras
Jimmy Heath
Andrew Jackson
Hon. Kate Levin
Wynton Marsalis
Hon. Helen Marshall
Hon. Francisco Moya
Hon. José Peralta
Giovanna Reid
George Wein


Major funding for the Louis Armstrong House Museum is provided by the Louis Armstrong Educational Foundation.

Additional funding is provided by Queens College, Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS); Bloomberg LP; New York State Council on the Arts; National Trust for Historic Preservation; Rudin Family Foundation; the Estates of Jane and Leslie Katz and members and donors from all over the world. Support is also provided by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, the Office of Queens Borough President Helen Marshall; the Office of City Councilmember Julissa Ferreras; the Office of State Senator José Peralta; the Office of State Assemblyman Francisco Moya, the Office of State Assemblyman Jeffrion L. Aubry;; the New York State Education Department; and the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.

Work Schedule Software donated by ShiftPlanning.


Michael Cogswell, Executive Director
David Reese, Curator
Ricky Riccardi, Archivist
Jennifer Walden, Marketing Director
Benjamin Flood, Museum Assistant
Hyland Harris, Museum Assistant

http://www.kupferbergcenterarts.org http://www.nyc.gov/html/dcla/html/home/home.shtml http://www.discoverqueens.info http://nycvisit.com