The Louis Armstrong House Museum (LAHM) sustains and promotes the cultural, historical, and humanitarian legacy of Louis Armstrong by preserving and interpreting Armstrong’s house and grounds, collecting and sharing archival materials that document Armstrong’s life and legacy, developing programs for the public that educate and inspire, and engaging with contemporary artists to create performances and new works.

Discover more in our 2023 Organization Profile.


Louis Armstrong passed in 1971. His wife, Lucille, continued to live in their home on 107th Street in Corona, Queens, working to ensure that it became a National and New York Historic Landmark.  Lucille expressed the desire for the home and archives to become a museum honoring her husband. They established the Louis Armstrong Educational Foundation (LAEF) which helped to facilitate this process and continues to work today as a force for jazz education. After Lucille’s passing in 1983, she willed the home and its contents to the city of New York which designated the City University of New York, Queens College to shepherd the process.  It took decades, but the archives became accessible in the 90’s, and the historic house opened for public tours in 2003. The Louis Armstrong House Museum (LAHM) became its own entity, with its expanded programs and official 501c3 non-profit status in 2008. LAHM administers the historic house under a long-term license agreement with the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs and Queens College.

Board of Trustees

Jay Hershenson, Chair

Gail Coleman Kupferberg, Vice Chair

Jeffrey Rosenstock

Michelle Stoddart

Frank Wu

Jerome Chazen, Chair Emeritus

Advisory Board

Geuri Canela

Phil Ballman

Leyla Bermudez

Saeeda Lesley Dunston

Melania Fernandez

Andrew Jackson

Wynton Marsalis

Giovanna Reid

Major funding for Louis Armstrong House Museum & Archives is provided by Fund II Foundation and the Louis Armstrong Educational Foundation. Additional funding is provided by Queens College/CUNY; NYC Council Speaker Corey Johnson; the New York State Council on the Arts; the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council; the New York City Department of Education; the Office of the Queens Borough President; Con Edison; and members and donors from all over the world. Capital support has been provided by Governor Andrew Mark Cuomo, the NYS Assembly and Senate, the NYC Council, the Office of the Mayor of New York City, and the Office of the Borough President of Queens.